Our Purpose

WID-TVC exists to provide women a supportive environment for professional growth and career development in the defense community.

Our Vision

An influential organization of women forging relationships and impacting the defense community

Our Mission

We provide women opportunities to become engaged in a diverse national security community and gain the knowledge, leadership skills and strategic connections through education, mentorship, and networking.

Tennessee Valley Chapter Goals

Build an engaged membership
Host events that promote our mission
Develop a vibrant, sustainable chapter
Cultivate an awareness of Women in Defense
Support the future of the defense community

The Tennessee Valley Chapter became the fourth Women in Defense (WID) chapter on March 31, 2003. We intend to become one of the largest and most vibrant chapters in WID!  Questions? Please call Allison Rhen at 256-614-9404.

2020 – 2022 WID-TVC Board

Title Name Organization Email
President Allison Rhen  MJLM Engineering & Technical Services arhen@mjlm.com
President-Elect Melanie Newton Tripoint Solutions mnewton610@gmail.com
 Secretary Jessica Washburn MTA, Inc. JWashburn@mta-inc.com
Treasurer Sandy Edwards SDE Financial Consultants SandyEdwards@comcast.net
Programs Shakeria Hayes Cortina Solutions Shakeria.Hayes@cortinasolutions.com
Communications Elizabeth Griffith Rocket City Digital egriffith36@gmail.com
STEMi Gayla Suddarth OAR Corporation gayla.suddarth@oarcorp.com
Awards/Scholarships Melanie Newton Tripoint Solutions mnewton610@gmail.com
External Relations  Sarah Smith  Morgan Stanley sarah.k.smith@morganstanley.com
Membership Kris Bell PNC Kris.bell@pnc.com
Mentorship Sherrie Nash JBS Solutions, Inc. s.nash@jbs-solutionsinc.com

Past Presidents